Officers Recognized by MADD Canada

Posted: September 18, 2023 8:55 am
By Kyle Brookings

On Friday, 12 police officers from the RNC and RCMP were inducted into the Nick Coates Impaired Driving Team for 2022 by MADD Canada.

Of those officers, seven were members of the RNC. The officers were Constable Michael Carter, Constable Shane McClafferty, Constable Terence Reid, Constable Kurt Etchegary, Constable Geoffrey Heffernan, Constable Cody Langmead, and Constable Bernard Morgan.

The five RCMP officers from this province are Corporal Raymond Whalen, Constable Caleb Pellerin, Constable Cassandra Barker, Constable Jules Gittens, and Constable MacKenzie McCoy.

An award for the top performer from both police forces was introduced by MADD Canada for the first time this year. For the RNC the award went to Constable Cody Langmead and for the RCMP it was Constable Caleb Pellerin.

To be inducted, an officer is required to have removed eight or more impaired drivers from the province’s roadways from April 1, 2022, to March 31, 2023.

The award is named in honour of Nick Coates, who was killed by an impaired driver in August of 2013. The awards recognize police officers for their efforts to detect and apprehend impaired drivers.

Scroll to top